ELENA KATS-CHERNIN Piano Quintet No. 1 The Offering *
SHOSTAKOVICH String Quartet No. 5 in B flat major, Op. 92
STUART GREENBAUM 4 before (and after) 5 ^
BRAHMS Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34
* Premiere, commissioned by Flinders Quartet with support from Chris Arnold and Margot Costanzo
^ Premiere, commissioned by Flinders Quartet with support from Julian Burnside AO QC


Commissioned by Chris Arnold and Margot Costanzo to commemorate their 60th birthdays, The Offering by Elena Kats-Chernin is her latest chamber work to hit the stage, and her first piano quintet. A friend of Flinders Quartet since 2005, Kats-Chernin and FQ have formed a strong bond through their music-making. Kats-Chernin says of Shostakovich: “His Preludes and Fugues are a constant on my piano at home”. And Greenbaum writes of Brahms: “I continue to be mesmerised by the harmonic progressions of Brahms.”

This exploration of the string quartet’s lineage epitomises FQ’s journey in 2016, celebrating the addition of two new works to the string quartet canon.

Violins  Shane Chen & Nicholas Waters
Viola  Helen Ireland
Cello  Zoe Knighton
Piano  Benjamin Martin

Concert Dates
MONTSALVAT Sunday 25 September, 2.30pm
MELBOURNE* Tuesday 27 September, 1.00pm
MELBOURNE Thursday 29 September, 7.00pm
ROMSEY Sunday 9 October, 2.30pm

Program: Shostakovich and Mozart strings quartets (no guest artist)