MATTIAS LYSELL "Le Sculpteur Express"* ("Le Sculpteur Express" film score)
SIBELIUS String Quartet No. 4 in D minor, Op. 56 "Voces Intimae"
ANDREW FORD "Scherzo perpetuo"* ("Le Sculpteur Express" film score)
BEETHOVEN String Quartet No. 14 in C sharp minor, Op. 131
*Premiere, commissioned by Flinders Quartet

The film "Performance" featuring Beethoven’s Op. 131 brought this towering piece into focus for many first time chamber music fans. It gave us the idea of exploring music in film and how our emotions are more affected by what we hear, rather than what we see. "Le Sculpteur Express" is from the famous Corrick Collection at the National Film and Sound Archive. The audience will see this silent film twice during the concert, once with a score by Australia’s Andrew Ford and once with a score by Sweden’s Mattias Lysell. Add in the best know quartet by Sibelius, "Voces Intimae" and we’re ready for action.

Violins  Helen Ayres & Shane Chen
Viola  Helen Ireland
Cello  Zoe Knighton

Concert Dates
MOONEE PONDS - Saturday 23 May, 8.00pm
MACEDON - Sunday 24 May, 2.30pm^ 
MELBOURNE - Monday 25 May, 7.00pm SOLD OUT!
SYDNEY - Thursday 28 May, 7.00pm
MONTSALVAT - Sunday 31 May, 2.30pm 


^this performance will not include the screening of the film

"Le Sculpteur Express" is provided courtesy of the Corrick Collection and National Film and Sound Archive of Australia.

Shane Chen, violin

Shane Chen, violin